With Marcella #16 (of 466)

At my table this evening, sat a lovely Canadian girl. She’s living and studying here for a while. The past few months we’ve been meeting occasionally over a meal to discuss life, faith and John’s Gospel together.

Tonight we also discussed the very great virtue of a reliable cookbook – reliable in the sense that every recipe cooked works well and tastes good. Marcella’s work is just such a cookbook.

My journey with Marcella Hazan and ‘The Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking’ began having read a hearty recommendation of her work in Julian Barnes’ ‘The Pedant in the Kitchen’. He, like me, appreciates (requires) recipes that tell you what to do – each and every step – and that clarify exactly what a ‘medium onion’ might be.

Tonight, my dinner companion and I thoroughly enjoyed Marcella’s ‘Pan-roasted Chicken with Rosemary, Garlic and White Wine.’ Having taken the liberty of asking the local butcher to cut the chicken into four pieces, I could move swiftly onto step 2 of the recipe.

Ten minutes preparation. Then just over an hour cooking all on its own (while I read fellow blogger’s posts).

SO yummy!

I don’t have the words to describe the ‘confluence of flavours’. It was just yummy!

Tonight: #16 ‘Pan-roasted Chicken with Rosemary, Garlic and White Wine’ with a Canadian at my table.

 

Leave a Reply

