With Marcella #18, #19, #20, #21 & #22 (of 466)

At my table tonight, sat eight friends. Tonight was a celebration of finishing the renovations and also of coming to the close of another ‘year’ of work together. For me it was also an opportunity to give thanks for their friendship.

So many causes for celebration called for a big choice from Marcella’s book. That choice necessitated an early start to the day and the purchase of two chickens (one as a backup).

In the end, both were successfully deboned and stuffed and sewn up ready to cook.

The starter of boiled eggs with ‘green sauce’ were enjoyed outside while the air was still warm – a real treat in this land (the warm air – not the eggs).

I enjoyed the process of making a number of Marcella’s recipes for one meal. It’s a challenging novelty to cook from recipes that have no pictures. It creates a sense of adventure for me as I wait to see how a few simple ingredients combined will make something new – something I’ve likely never tasted before.

The highlight for most of us tonight was the ‘Garlic-Scented Tomato Salad’ which consisted merely of sliced tomatoes drizzled with garlic-infused red wine vinegar and olive oil. So surprisingly lovely!

But the highlight of the evening for me was cooking for (and eating with) friends who love Jesus, who have loved me so well when I have needed it most, and (thankfully) loved the food enough to leave me with very few leftovers to worry about.

I am blessed.

Tonight: ‘Hard-boiled Eggs with Green Sauce’, ‘Garlic-Scented Tomato Salad’, ‘Cos Salad with Gorgonzola Cheese and Walnuts, ‘Pan-roasted Whole Boned Chicken with Beef and Parmesan Stuffing’, and ‘Ricotta and Coffee Cream’ with Hannah, Richard, Miriam, Ed, Aubrey, Valerie, Jonathan and Ashling at my table.

 

Leave a Reply

