Writing 101 – Day #15 With Marcella #23, #24, #25, #26, #27 & #28 (of 466)

Today we are supposed to think of a festival or event that we would hate to see stopped or, indeed, taken over by some corporate giant.

It’s not simply that I am a little obsessed with Marcella’s cookbook at the moment. I would be genuinely upset if I had to finish this ‘festival’ that is the festival of cooking with Marcella! I would also be upset if it were somehow taken over by some corporate enterprise – not that it would be – but I like the fact that it happens in my head and in my little kitchen, quieting and soothing troubles and concerns as the recipes unfold. It’s a gift to me that I in no way wish to see stop!

Tonight, I carried on with the culinary celebration of summer in this land that sees so little of the phenomenon, and rustled up some stuffed tomatoes, grilled prawns, a couple of quick salads and some fresh fruit rather wonderfully drowned in a special beverage! All so simple! In fact the thing that took the longest was the making of the mayonnaise!

To top off the evening, when I came to record the recipes and page numbers and the people I dined with in my little book (regular readers may be starting to detect a motif of slightly obsessive behaviour) I noticed that the Mayonnaise (of page 42) that was required to make the Tomatoes Stuffed with Tuna (of page 67) counted as a separate recipe! So I knocked off an extra recipe of the 466 recipes without even realising it!

I’m just a little bit excited!

Oh, and the food was good. The company was even better. It was wonderful to explore together life and lessons learned in the secure context of God’s overwhelming love for us – and to finish it all off with the taste of strawberries straight from strawberry beds in the sunny south-east!

Tonight: ‘Mayonnaise’ (!), ‘Tomatoes Stuffed with Tuna’, ‘Grilled Prawn Skewers’, ‘Shredded Savoy Cabbage Salad’, ‘Orange and Cucumber Salad’ and ‘Peaches and Strawberries in Sweet White Wine’ with Sean and Ana at my table.

2 thoughts on “Writing 101 – Day #15 With Marcella #23, #24, #25, #26, #27 & #28 (of 466)

Leave a Reply

