Where Does My Help Come From?

This morning I walked to the bank to pay my electricity bill into my landlord’s account. Apparently I can’t do that anymore. An older lady was standing in the middle of the newly renovated banking room. A room now filled with cubicles where you go and take care of your business. Only it seems there’s not much business you can take care of in those cubicles. Not anymore.

The lady was the only human in sight. She was clearly employed to help me – help me realise that I could no longer be helped here.

I walked on to the local butcher, where I wished to buy three salmon fillets for dinner tonight. I am temporarily reverting to ‘The Hairy Dieters’ cookbook to get some help in the arena of my not-so-defined waistline. The butcher remembered me! He asked how the pork had turned out. I told him it had turned out beautifully. He said ‘See, you just need to tell me what you’re cooking and we know what to cut of meat to recommend!’

The butcher was there to help me. He wanted me to know that.

Later today, I and another listening ear, had lunch with a woman we so wanted to help. We offered help. We asked how we could help. We tried to help by listening. In the end we all agreed that there wasn’t all that much we could do to help. Her situation was a pretty desperate situation and one that wasn’t likely to go away anytime soon.

God, our loving, heavenly Father, was there listening today. We heard words from his song book, Psalm 139, of his intimate knowledge of us and his hand that holds us fast when others cannot, or will not. His hand holds us fast even when other hands may be letting us down, dragging us down, grasping at our life in ways we can’t control.

We could hold this woman’s hand in support but ultimately we were left with just one source of help – and we spoke to him in prayer and trust. We were taking it to the only one who can offer real help.

In the words of another of his songs given to us to sing:

I lift my eyes to the hills
Where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord,
The Maker of heaven and earth.

He will not let your foot slip
He who watches over you will not slumber;
Indeed he who watches over Israel
Will neither slumber nor sleep.

The Lord watches over you
The Lord is your shade at your right hand;
The sun will not harm you by day,
Nor the moon by night.

The Lord will keep you from all harm
He will watch over your coming and going
Both now and forevermore.

Psalm 121

Leave a Reply

