The Solace of Simplicity – With Marcella #69 (of 466)

I am presently in need of simplicity.

Thus, I have been having dinners of leftovers from the freezer, making much use of the humble egg on toast and loving the return to porridge for breakfast each morning.

I haven’t made much headway with the Marcella project in the past week or so. So, after tiring of food eaten out (a little too rich) and food eaten from the freezer (a little too microwaved), I thought I’d give Marcella’s much-praised ‘Tomato Sauce with Onion and Butter’ a whirl.

Simplicity itself! Open a tin of tomatoes and plop them into a saucepan. Peel and halve an onion and plop that in. Slice off a chunk of butter and plop that in. Simmer gently for 45 mins. Boil some pasta. Remove onion halves. Pour sauce over pasta.

It was delicious! So perfectly tasty and simple.

Last Monday I had made use of my first ever batch of Chicken Stock and made the Malouf’s ‘Golden Chicken Soup with Coriander, Garlic and Parsley’. I had three friends join me and we enjoyed every spoonful of it. Chicken soup truly is good for one’s body and soul.

My soup was not so ‘golden’ and for the life of me I couldn’t locate where the coriander came into it – until the next day I realised that there was a call for a blob of ‘Taklia’ at the end….I’d missed that. Taklia is a paste with coriander and garlic. Still, it was yummy as it was.

Golden Chicken Soup with Coriander, Garlic and Parsley

Golden Chicken Soup with Coriander, Garlic and Parsley

 

I’ll try revisiting ‘Saha’ before this month is out and the Cookbook Guru moves on to another book.

Tonight, though, I will be having the leftover pasta and sauce from last night – microwaved and all!

Last Monday: #69 ‘Tomato Sauce with Onion and Butter’ with just me at my coffee table.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Solace of Simplicity – With Marcella #69 (of 466)

Leave a Reply

