My Imagination is Packed (in my suitcase)

Normally, my mind travels far; my imagination knows few limits.

Lately, my mind is travelling – a lot – but in the same direction.

My mind goes to my suitcase, my ‘to-do’ list, and my upcoming travels across I-don’t-know-how-many-seas to the other side of the world.

I’m not imagining an exotic location (though Koalas may seem a little exotic to those not raised in that far away land). I’m not even getting excited about the sights and delights I might find there (though I’m longing for some hugs from my family and my Mum’s roast lamb dinner).

I’m not feeling at all creative or vision-filled – as I’m normally found to be.

I am just ready.

I am so ready that my bags are packed. They have been lying there on the spare bed, being gradually filled, for quite some time now. I am most definitely a ‘pre-packer’.

My head is in the land I’m heading to. My heart still has to remain here for a while, while I say goodbyes to the many folk who’ve won my heart.

This is no holiday trip I’m taking. This will be a year of life and work back in my country of birth. It’s no small thing. It’s filling my head and heart right now and I’m mostly managing to keep that overwhelming fullness of emotion from overflowing – by being just a little bit more than obsessed with the details of packing and preparing to go.

The realm of details is not normally my abiding place. I look forward to leaving those pesky details behind – ticked, crossed and crumpled up ‘to-do’ lists in the recycling bin. I take comfort that they can’t follow me where I’m going – they’ll be redundant once I’m on the plane sipping something pleasant and snacking on complimentary peanuts.

My imagination isn’t actually packed in my suitcase. I can’t find it right now in order to pack it! But I’ll be getting on the plane in one week’s time, trusting that it’ll meet me there – on the other side of the world.

God’s given me enough foresight, enough imagination, to trust that he’ll have it waiting and ready for me – a fresh sense of his ‘big picture’, saving work in this world – and a little taste of my part in that.

For now, I’m counting pairs of socks and wondering if my face cream will last for seven more days.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/i-got-skills/

10 thoughts on “My Imagination is Packed (in my suitcase)

  1. Bon voyage, Shazza. The grey squirrels will miss you when you join the cuddly koalas. But it’s OK because the Most Important Person will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Rapunzel! I will miss the grey squirrels! One came right up to my loungeroom window last week and looked in at me! I will also miss the one that runs past the window at Monday meetings πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Praying for your last few days there (hope the face cream holds out!) and looking forward to seeing you on the other side of the world. Hope you can visit us – we don’t have koalas, but we do have kangaroos – the baby joeys are so cute, kookaburras, and goannas.

    Like

    • I’m here safe and sound – blog post coming soon. Mum and I plan to pick up my favourite niece from a camp at your place on Thursday morning – hope we can manage a cuppa then πŸ™‚

      Like

    • The reunions have indeed been joyful! It was lovely to get a good dose of hugs! I am settling well into life and work here for the year. It hasn’t been too hot, so my body is slowly adjusting to the change in climate.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

