Ten Things I’m Thankful For – Day #3

Another tip I’ve gathered along the path of practicing thankfulness is to look for the love. Many moments in my life have been wasted wishing for love from unrequited sources, or grieving love lost from places where it once was or promised to be.

Practicing thankfulness helps me see the love that’s already there – love that comes from the God who made me and the people he places in my life. I find my life is a love story if I watch it unfold with eyes open.

Today I awake with the knowledge that I am loved, thankful for:

1. People who notice me and are witnesses to my life. I have been reading a book called ‘Going Solo: The Extraordinary Rise and Surprising Appeal of Living Alone’ by Eric Klinenberg. In it there are many stories of people who enjoy living alone and thrive in the solitude and rest they experience. There are also sad stories of people who live and die, unnoticed, unmissed, alone in their homes. While I live alone, I have people who would miss me if I died – eventually!

2. Two friends, who on my arrival here in this country, asked if there was anything I needed. I had most things I needed, but I mentioned that the coffee plunger (cafetière) in the apartment where I am living was a bit defective. They went out and bought me one. They also gave me money to buy coffee to fill it.

3. Friends who go to the bother of catching up after my long absences from this land.

4. Friends who understand that all that catching up can be tiring.

5. An arm around my shoulder.

6. A talk at church yesterday, reminding us of God’s love for us.

“I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge – that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.” (Paul’s letter to the Ephesians, Chapter 4)

7. A pastor on his knees, praying a loving, heart-felt prayer that we would know God’s deep love for us.

8. God’s love that comes with power to change us from the inside out.

9. A coffee made with love – no doubt with love for excellence in coffee-making, rather than love for the coffee drinker. Nevertheless, the unexpected ‘art’ on a black coffee made me feel all warm and ‘lovely’ inside 🙂

Mountains in the Moonlight?

Mountains in the Moonlight?

10. A little glass of sparkling water, served with my coffee: the love of an ‘added bonus’.

Coffee with Sparkle

Coffee with Sparkle

Daily Prompt

7 thoughts on “Ten Things I’m Thankful For – Day #3

  1. You’ve mentioned, “on my arrival here in this country”. Which country? Have you migrated to some other country. Is this migration temporary or permanent? And why have you done so.

    Like

    • Hi Omair. Thanks for taking the time to read the post and for asking questions. On this blog, I don’t very often make overt mention of where I am. But If you take a look back through past posts you’ll see mention of some of the details. At the moment I am in Australia, my home country, for a temporary job.

      Like

Leave a Reply

