O Shazzameena, where hast thou been?!

You may, or may not, have been asking this question over the past two months as I have failed to post anything on this blog.

While I say ‘failed’, I have been doing my best to realise that it’s not a failure in life if I don’t post on a blog. Nothing in my life or yours rests on whether I post or not.

Nevertheless, I have missed the act of writing itself – some of the time, anyway. For the rest of the time I have just been getting by and getting on with the stuff that’s been going on in and around me.

Just now, as I looked back over the list of books on my Goodreads page, I realised that while I have not been writing, I have still managed to be reading. And there have certainly been some good books among those I’ve read:

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber

New Testament Wisdom for Everyone by Tom Wright

Paper Towns by John Green

At the Water’s Edge by Sarah Gruen

Station Eleven by Emily St.John Mandel

The 3D Gospel by Jayson Georges

A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler

I wasn’t all that taken with At the Water’s Edge but the others were enjoyable reads, with Paper Towns and The Book of Strange New Things standing out in my memory as great reads.

The past two months have included some vacation weeks from my work at college (hence a lot more books read than I would otherwise read in that time); a lovely stay in a generous friend’s apartment with a view of Sydney Harbour; my 43rd Birthday and some lovely celebrations with friends and family; a short but sweet dinner at my place where we laughed so much, for so long, in a way that many of us had not done in quite some time. Marvellous stuff!

While I have felt rather paralysed at the thought of sitting to write these past couple of months. I hope to remedy that in coming weeks. There is soon to be another couple of weeks of vacation break at college. So during that time I hope to make use of some ‘Free Writing’ prompts and write for 15-20 minutes most days using the prompts given.

Feel free to tune into the free-writing posts. Or not. It won’t be polished writing. The idea will be to write without stopping or editing, for the given time. Perhaps you could give it go yourself! If you would like to see the page with the prompts I’ll be making use of, you can check it out here.

3 thoughts on “O Shazzameena, where hast thou been?!

  1. I watched Nick Minchin being interviewed on the 730 Report about his musical Matilda, based on the Roald Dahl book of the same name. He said that any work of art is merely a function of what you have been able to achieve in a given period of time. Remember that, my friend. It would be wrong to think of your coming blogposts as any less than art itself!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Such encouraging words! I love the reminder of the artistic potential even in the limitations any given period of time. I’m looking forward to seeing what comes out with the little writing projects.

      Like

Leave a Reply

